

## To: IUSS Council

## Madison, June 2014

## Dear colleague,

I have just returned from the 20<sup>th</sup> World Congress of Soil Science in Jeju, Korea. Here I would like to share with you some information and a few observations that are hopefully of interest to all whom were present in Jeju and those that could not attend the congress. Some detailed reports from the congress will be published in the next IUSS Bulletin (November 2014).

It has been a wonderful and successful congress and it is not easy to summarise the highlights. The congress was excellently organised by Jae Yang and John Kim with the help of the local organisers Kwang-Yong Jung, Hae-Nam Hyun and Jeong-Gyu Kim. All worked out very well and there was a fine mix of scientific, educational and fun activities. On behalf of the global soil science community I wish to thank our Korean friends for hosting and organising a truly magnificent world Congress of Soil Science – a boost for global soil science and a long-lasting memory of friendship and inspiration. 감사합니다 or: gamsahabnida!

The scientific program was strong with many exciting symposia that were well-attended. Each morning started with a plenary symposium that was followed by a large number of smaller symposia focusing on a variety of soil science topics. The breadth and depth of subjects as well as the wide global participation showed the vitality of the soil science discipline. There were art exhibitions, many films, a soil parade and a range of cultural and social activities including celebrations of the 90<sup>th</sup> Anniversary of the IUSS, the ceremonies of the Dokuchaev award to Alex McBratney and the Liebig Award to Magdi Selim as well as the six new IUSS Honorary members Jai Joung Kim, John Kimble, Ahmet Mermut, Nicola Senesi, Don Sparks and Robert White. Congratulations to all of them!

The IUSS Council met three times and it was pleasing to see the large participation and the many young national representatives. The council elected the UK as the location for the 2022 World Congress of Soil Science. In addition, the *Centennial IUSS congress* will be held in Rome in 2024 and we are also thinking of making 2027 a special IUSS year since the first World Congress of Soil Science was held in 1927. The council established a new forum consisting of Commission and Working Group chairs with the aim to enhance participation and scientific leadership in the IUSS.

As is common during a World Congress several new officers take up their duties in the running of the IUSS whereas others step down from their positions. At first I wish to thank

Jim Gauld, our Treasurer since 2006. Jim has worked in the past years on our investments and the incorporation of the IUSS which has proven to be a difficult task but a very good move. The new treasurer is Andreas Baumgarten. Also the 4 Division chairs (Karl Stahr, Martin Gerzabek, Rainer Horn and Chuck Rice) and the Commission chairs and vice chairs have finished their term and I wish to thank them for the many activities that they have organised and initiated. The Divisions, Commissions and Working Groups are at the core of the soil scientific activities in the IUSS. We welcome the new Division chairs Erika Micheli, Kazuyuki Inubushi, Takashi Kosaki and Christian Feller and the new Commission chairs and vice chairs. The chairs of the four standing committees (Roger Swift, Mary Beth Kirkham, Stephen Nortcliff, Don Sparks) who have done an outstanding job, will be in charge for another 4 years.

We also welcome the new IUSS President Rainer Horn and the President Elect Rattan Lal whom together with Flavio Camargo, the Vice-President Congress, will lead the union in the coming years. Amongst others the President will concentrate on activities around the *2015 International Year of Soils* as well as the *5th December World Soil Day*. After 90 years the IUSS has decoupled the presidency from the country hosting the World Congress. As part of that new arrangement the IUSS will have a permanent secretariat that will be based in Vienna and Martin Gerzabek should be thanked for making that possible. The IUSS Secretariat will deal with all administrative issues whereas the scientific matters will be dealt with by the presidents. Sigbert Huber will deal with administrative issues. We have great expectations from this new construction and trust that it enhances the professionalism of the union with increased service to its members and a wider outreach to other scientific communities and the general public. This new arrangement also implies that the position of Secretary General and Deputy Secretary General will cease to exist and I thank the Deputy Secretary General Alex McBratney for all his work and input during the past 4 years.

At last, it has been a great pleasure and honour working for the IUSS and I thank you for all your support, hard work and friendship – let's continue to move soil science and the IUSS upward and onward!

Alfred Hartemink

IUSS Secretary General

E-mail hartemink@wisc.edu

President Rainer Horn rhorn@soils.uni-kiel.de President elect Rattan Lal lal.1@osu.edu Vice President Congress Flavio Camargo fcamargo@ufrgs.br Treasurer Andreas Baumgarten andreas.baumgarten@ages.at Division 1 Erika Micheli micheli.erika@mkk.szie.hu Division 2 Kazuyuki Inubushi inubushi@faculty.chiba-u.jp kosakit8@tmu.ac.jp Division 3 Takashi Kosaki christian.feller@ird.fr Division 4 Christian Feller Secretary Sigbert Huber sigbert.huber@umweltbundesamt.at